The catcher in the rye by J.D. Salinger

Rye_catcher.jpgTitle: The catcher in the rye
Athor: J.D. Salinger 
Number of pages: 222
Types: Family, young-adult, life

Description: “The Catcher in the Rye” is J . D. Salinger’s world-famous novel of disaffected youth. Holden Caulfield is a seventeen- year-old dropout who has just been kicked out of his fourth school. Navigating his way through the challenges of growing up, Holden dissects the ‘phony’ aspects of society, and the ‘phonies’ themselves: the headmaster whose affability depends on the wealth of the parents, his roommate who scores with girls using sickly-sweet affection. Written with the clarity of a boy leaving childhood behind, “The Catcher in the Rye” explores the world with disarming frankness and a warm, affecting charisma which has made this novel a universally loved classic of twentieth-century literature.
I actually didn’t know that much about the book when I first started to read it. I read some reviews, but I couldn’t get the meaning of the book.  The thing about this book is that you love it or you hate it. And obviously I liked it.

Mark: 4/5
♥  ♥  ♥


Maybe you wonder why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5…and actually I have some reasons for that. At the beginning of the book I thought I would give it 3.5, but how can I dare to give it the same grade I gave to The red and the black by Stendhal. It isn’t fair. For a while I was stuck between 3.5 and 4, but when I read the las five chapters of the book I was ready to give it 5 stars. It is insane.
+I don’t know why, but I loved the ending. I always love the endings…even if it is a bad book or something I have to read for school :).
+I also loved that the book was written easy and for teenagers. It reminded me of ” Looking for Alaska” by John Green which is insane, because “The catcher in the rye” is nothing like that.
P1010156
One thing I did not like about the book is that some of ‘Holden’s thoughts’ kind of bored me. I was just so sick of reading the story of his life when all I wanted was to see where is he going or what happens next. But I won’t lie..some of them were pretty interesting.
^
I don’t know if it is a good thing or a bad thing( I think it depends of your reading tastes ), but  the book is about real life. It is not like The hunger games (which I haven’t read, but I saw the movies) or The maze runner. While you read it you won’t be thinking ” Is he going to live or die?”. This book is about a boy and what he thinks.

P1010053

I will definetly re-read this book.

P.S: My favourite character was Phoebe 🙂 What character did you enjoy the most?

GooseNoBackground

Leave a Reply

