The red and the black by Stendhal


14662Title: The red and the black

Author: Stendhal
Number of pages: 557
Types: Love, history

Description: Handsome, ambitious Julien Sorel is determined to rise above his humble provincial origins. Soon realizing that success can only be achieved by adopting the subtle code of hypocrisy by which society operates, he begins to achieve advancement through deceit and self-interest. His triumphant career takes him into the heart of glamorous Parisian society, along the way conquering the gentle, married Madame de Rênal, and the haughty Mathilde. But then Julien commits an unexpected, devastating crime – and brings about his own downfall. The Red and the Black is a lively, satirical portrayal of French society after Waterloo, riddled with corruption, greed and ennui, and Julien – the cold exploiter whose Machiavellian campaign is undercut by his own emotions – is one of the most intriguing characters in European literature.
I knew from the begining that this book won’t be one of my favourites. And I was right.

Mark: 3.5
♥  ♥  ♥

I started reading this book a few weeks ago. At the time I was also reading three more books. After I finished those I thought that I should finish this one faster. It was so hard for me to finish this book. Sometimes I was reading chapters without thinking about I was reading about.I read this book because my mother recommended it to me. I hope she liked it more than I did.

I think that I did not enjoy this book because of the main character . I think Julien was too selfish and false. But I think all people nowadays are like that, right? False and selfish. But unlike us, Julien was smart, too smart. He could use people. He made them like him or hate him…but the worst was that he could make everyone love him.
I just don’t understand how people couldn’t see all that selfishness in his heart. But…you know what? I think that if there weren’t written Julian’s thoughts I would think he was good, too.

The character I loved the most…or maybe the only character I liked was Madame de Renal. I liked her even more than I liked Mathilde, which seems to be an angel.
I can tell you that I LOVED the end of the book. In my opinion it was perfect, even if Madame de Renal……(you have to read the book to find out what happened to her).
The book is a very complicated one and I recommend it for older persons. If I knew what was waiting for me I definetly would’ve skiped it. I hope I will reread it when I will get older and I really hope that I will like it more.

Yeah, I know i’ve used the picture a milion times, but I am too lazy to take another one so this should work 🙂 🙂
GooseNoBackground

Leave a Reply

